Institutes and Professorships

The Department of History and Social Sciences comprises the Institutes of History, Philosophy, Political Science, Sociology, Linguistics and Literature, and Theology and Social Ethics with a total of 28 professorships.

Managing directors of the Institutes

The current managing directors are:

Institute Managing Director Term of office
Institute of History Prof. Dr. Gerrit Jasper Schenk 01.04.2022 – 31.03.2023
Institute of Philosophy Prof. Dr. Alfred Nordmann 01.10.2020 – 30.09.2022
Institute of Political Science Prof. Dr. Nathalie Behnke 01.04.2021 – 31.03.2023
Institute of Sociology Prof. Dr. Ute Tellmann 01.08.2021 – 31.07.2023
Institute of Linguistics and Literary Studies Prof. Dr. Andrea Rapp 01.04.2021 – 31.03.2023
Institute of Theology and Social Ethics Prof. Dr. Dirk Jörke 01.10.2021 – 31.03.2023

Institutes and Professorships

Professors Contact
Prof. Dr. Jens Ivo Engels
Modern and Contemporary History
Prof. Dr. Nicolai Hannig
Modern History
Prof. Dr. Mikael Hård
History of Technology
Prof. Dr. Martina Heßler
History of Technology
Prof. Dr. Julianne Nyhan
Humanities Data Science and Methodology
Prof. Dr. Gerrit Jasper Schenk
History of the Middle Ages
Prof. Dr. Gabriele Wesch-Klein
Substitute Professor Ancient History
Professors Contact
Prof. Dr. Petra Gehring
Prof. Dr. Sophie Loidolt
Prof. Dr. Alfred Nordmann
Professors Contact
Prof. Dr. Nathalie Behnke
Public Management, Public Policy
apl. Prof. Dr. Björn Egner
Methodology in Political Science and Philosophy of Science
Prof. Dr. Dirk Jörke
Political Theory and History of Ideas
Prof. Dr. Michèle Knodt
Comparative Politics and European Integration
Prof. Dr. Markus Lederer
International Relations
Prof. Dr. Christian Stecker
Comparative Politics and German Government
apl.-Prof. Dr. Kai Schulze
Energy, climate and environmental policy analysis
Prof. Dr. Jens Steffek
Transnational Governance
Professors Contact
Prof. Dr. Ulrich Brinkmann
Prof. Dr. Sybille Frank
Prof. Dr. Marek Fuchs
Prof. Dr. Cornelia Koppetsch
Prof. Dr. Tanja Paulitz
Prof. Dr. Ute Tellmann
Professors Contact
Prof. Dr. Evelyn Gius
Digital Philology – Modern German Literature
Prof. Dr. Britta Hufeisen
Linguistics – Multilingualism
Prof. Dr. Nina Janich
German Studies – Applied Linguistics
Prof. Dr. Matthias Luserke-Jaqui
Modern German Literature
Prof. Dr. Marcus Müller
German Studies – Digital Linguistics
Prof. Dr. Andrea Rapp
German Studies – Computer Philology and Medieval Studies
Prof. Dr. Thomas Weitin
German Studies – Digital Literary Studies
Staff Contact
apl. Prof. Dr. Hermann-Josef Große Kracht
Catholic theology and social ethics
AkadR Dr. theol. Gerhard Schreiber
Protestant theology
Professors Contact
Prof. Dr. Christian Reuter
Science and Technology for Peace and Security
Prof. Dr. Iryna Gurevych
Ubiquitous Knowledge Processing